Improve Your Writing: Free Tutorials and Exercises

In today’s post I’m going to share the link to a series of free tutorials and exercises that I’ve found really useful for improving my writing. The introductory page can be found here as part of the online learning material from the University of Bristol’s Faculty of Arts. Links to the various sections are on the left-hand side of that page.

Grammar and punctuation matter. It can be very off-putting to the reader when those basics are not in place (however good the content might be otherwise). Although I got good grades in English at high school, we never seemed to cover much in the way of punctuation beyond apostrophes, full stops, and question marks. In any case, it’s been a long time since I sat in a classroom. My memory definitely needed refreshing.

I don’t claim that since working through the exercises I’m now an expert and I never get anything wrong. I still need to get my work proofread/edited before publication (as should every writer). However, I certainly have a better understanding of the basics than I did before. There are now fewer annotations on my work when it comes back to me after it’s been proofread/edited. (There may well be some minor crimes against the English language in this blog post. If so then I apologise! I don’t usually get my blog posts proofread.)

I should point out that the tutorials and exercises are aimed at writers of UK English, but I expect writers using American English or other variants of the language will also find much of the content helpful.

If you have any similar online resources to recommend, please feel free to post the links in the comments section at the bottom of this article. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

